Unitisation approved

December 21, 2001, 09:30 CET

The Ministry of Petroleum and Energy has approved the unitisation plan for the three licences on the Halten Bank in connection with the development of the Statoil-operated Kristin field.

The three production licences 134B, 199 and 257 – which include the Kristin, Lavrans, Erlend, Morvin (the M-prospect) and Ragnfrid fields – make up the Halten Bank West.

“Through Kristin we are now establishing a new field centre in the Norwegian Sea. The extensive unitisation agreement provides a rational, comprehensive framework for further development in that we now have a basis for an overall exploration strategy and field development plan for the Halten Bank West,” reports Nina Udnes Tronstad, vice president for production on Kristin.

The licensee allocation in the unitisation agreement for Kristin is now Statoil 46.6 per cent, Petoro 18.9 per cent, Norsk Hydro 12 per cent, ExxonMobil 10.5 per cent, Agip 9 per cent and TotalFinaElf 3 per cent.

In the summer, the Kristin gas and condensate field was allocated supplies to Norwegian gas sales contracts. The field will supply around 35 billion cubic metres of gas from 2005 to 2016.

The Kristin development will entail expansion of the Kårstø gas treatment complex north of Stavanger, where the gas will be received and processed.

On 17 December the Storting (parliament) approved the plan for development and operation of Kristin.