Board election in Statoil

June 22, 2004, 13:00 CEST

A new board for Statoil has been elected by the parent company’s corporate assembly today, 22 June.

The corporate assembly re-elected Jannik Lindbæk, Kaci Kullmann Five, Knut Åm, Finn A Hvistendahl, Grace Skaugen and Eli Sætersmoen. They were proposed by Statoil’s annual general meeting on 5 May and were formally elected for two years at today's meeting.

Mr Lindbæk and Ms Kullmann Five are chair and deputy chair respectively of the Statoil board.

The worker-elected directors are Stein Bredal from the Confederation of Vocational Unions (YS), Lill-Heidi Bakkerud (new) of the Norwegian Oil and Petrochemical Workers Union (Nopef) and Morten Svaan (new) from the Norwegian Society of Chartered Technical and Scientific Professionals (Tekna).

Bjørn Egeland was also elected as first alternate for the worker directors, who are elected for a two-year period.